Slow Pulp announce debut album Moveys and drop new single Idaho

Photo: Alec Basse

Slow Pulp have announced their debut studio album, 'Moveys', and launched the release with the striking new single, 'Idaho'.

The Chicago-based rockers - Emily Massey (vocals/guitar), Alexander Leeds (bass), Theodore Mathews (drums), and Henry Stoehr (guitar) - will release the 10-track LP on October 9 via Winspear.

Massey's honeyed vocals and glistening guitars beam on slow jam,'Idaho' - which was penned on the road when a confused Stoehr accidentally mixed up their gig at Colorado College for a show in an entirely different state.

The song deals with the emotional rollercoaster and "mental health hurdles that come with accepting love".

The record is truly a product of sheer resilience, as the band were forced to ditch an entire album‘s worth of material after Massey was diagnosed with Lyme disease and chronic Mono.

As if things couldn't get any worse, the lead vocalist's parents were later involved in a serious car accident just before the world was put into lockdown with Covid-19.

On how they managed to pull the record together during the pandemic, Matthews said: "Thankfully most instrumentals were already written. Alex and Henry and I were all able to do that separately from a studio space that we rent in Chicago. It required a lot of FaceTime which was no substitute for us being in the room together."

As Massey's father, Michael, recovered from the injuries he sustained in the crash, he and Massey were able to engineer much of the record - bar two tracks - at his home studio and he also recorded an instrumental piano track, 'Whispers (In the Outfield)'.

Listen to 'Idaho':

Pre-order 'Moveys' here.

The tracklisting for 'Moveys' is:

1. New Horse

2. Trade It


4. Track

5. At It Again

6. Channel 2

7. Whispers (In The Outfield)

8. Falling Apart

9. Montana

10. Movey